PRESIDENT'S DAY SALE   All individual records $50 all box sets $300

Irma Thomas
Love is the Foundation

Regular price $65.00 USD
Unit price

Irma Thomas
Love is the Foundation

Regular price $65.00 USD
Unit price

"Thomas sounds like a precious jewel placed in an exquisite setting. The whole package is a work of art, from the striking black and white cover photo by Daymon Gardner, a head shot portrait in meticulous detail that seems to reveal something deep and essential in Thomas’ character; to the art museum quality graphic design and the opaque pearl vinyl disc that graces your turntable like a designer outfit." –Offbeat

A "masterpiece" –Audiophile Audition

Returning to the studio for her first album in over a decade, soul powerhouse Irma Thomas is back. With vocals that will sweep you away into a different time and space, Irma Thomas is rooted by her phenomenal accompanying band featuring Preservation Hall Jazz Band pianist Kyle Roussel, Johnny Vidacovich on drums, and the late Alfred “Uganda” Roberts on percussion. Roberts and Vidacovich played together since the late 60s as rhythm partners for many of the 60s and 70s R&B greats, including Professor Longhair.

Providing the brass for the album are Andrew Baham on trumpet, Roderick Pauling on saxophone, and Terrence Taplin on trombone. Thomas is supported by vocal backing from Paggy Prine, Sierra Green, and Kyshona Armstrong. And, bridging two great American musical traditions, Paul Defiglia and Stephen Daly join the band to contribute bass and guitar all the way from Nashville.

Album Facts

Catalog NVN001
Format 180-gram clear vinyl LP
Jacket Tip-on gatefold jacket

Recording Detail

Recording Misha Kachkachishvili, Esplanade Studios
New Orleans, Louisiana USA
Mixing Marc Urselli, East Side Sound
New York, New York, USA
Mastering Alex DeTurk, The Bunker Studio
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Pressing Quality Record Pressing
Salina, Kansas, USA

Track Listing


  1. "My Love Is"
  2. "I Don't Know"
  3. "It's Too Late"
  4. "Picture On The Wall"
  5. "Perfidia"


  1. "So Long"
  2. "Don't Go To Strangers"
  3. "Love Is The Foundation"
  4. "Crying Eyes"
  5. "Second Chance"
  6. "Our Day Will Come"

Liner Notes

Irma Thomas - Vocals
Johnny Vidacovich - Drums
Alfred ‘Uganda’ Roberts - Congas
Kyle Roussel - Piano, Wurlitzer, B3 Organ
Stephen Daly - Electric guitar, pedal steel guitar
Paul Defiglia - Electric and upright bass

“I always choose songs that have good storylines. And on this particular session they all had great storylines. May not have been some that I would do or say personally, but you don’t always look at it from a personal standpoint. You look at it like a script, and you are playing a role and telling a story and you want it to be believable. So you have to picture yourself in that. What would you do if you were in that position? And it makes it easier to sing, because in your head while you’re singing it you are that person in that position. And since I been around since mud I’ve had a lot of life and living under my belt, so it's not hard for me to put myself in a lot of those positions.”

--Irma Thomas, January 14, 2020

Continue reading
Download printable PDF
Back to top Continue Shopping